Women of our Times

A glimpse into the lives of some of the members of Business and Professional Women

June 2011

Introducing

Lorraine Cameron

 

Club: BPW Tamaki

Age: 66

Occupation: Semi-retired

Positions held in BPW: President, Secretary, Bulletin Editor, Committee, Membership, and NCW Rep since 1998.

How long have you been a member of BPW? Kaitaia 1988-1995 Tamaki 1996 – present with a 3-year gap in between. 20 years

What is your idea of perfect happiness? Being able to do what I like. I have it!

What is a trait you most deplore in others? Dishonesty

What is your greatest extravagance? Trip to United States & Canada to visit relatives whom I had never met.

Which talent would you most like to have? Better writing skills.

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be? Weight

What do you consider your greatest achievement? Rearing six children on my own.

What is your most treasured possession? Life

What is the quality you most like in a person? Humility

What is your motto? Love many, trust few, and always paddle your own canoe.

 

 

 

June 2010

 

Introducing …              

 

 

Christina Turner, BPWNZ Executive Secretary

 

 

  • Club:
  • BPW Hawera
  • Age:
  • As my grandmother used to say “As old as my tongue and a little older than my teeth”.
  • Occupation:
  • Taranaki Regional Coordinator for Computers in Homes
  • Positions held in BPW:
  • BPW Hawera secretary (current)
  • How long have you been a member of BPW?
  • 4 years
  • What is your idea of perfect happiness?
  • What I always asked for on Mother’s Day and never got!  Peace and quiet.
  • What is a trait you most deplore in others?
  • Helplessness.  I can’t stand helpless people, you know, those ones who sit with their hands in their laps bleating “I can’t do it!” when they have a good brain, they can see, hear, walk and talk.  Can’t stand it.   I wanna slap them upside the head!
  • What is your greatest extravagance?
  • My hobbies.  Any of them.
  • What or who is the greatest love of your life?
  • My grandchildren.  I’ve got eleven so far, with another on the way, and two great grandchildren.  There’s nothing like the way their faces light up when they see you, and the hugs you get from grandchildren.
  • Which talent would you most like to have?
  • I’d like to be able to stick a piece of material on the floor, walk around it a few times, then cut out some random bits, sew it up and come out with a gorgeous designer dress.  My sister can do it; I’m in awe.
  • If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?
  • I’ll like to learn to say no more often.
  • What do you consider your greatest achievement?
  • Eight successful independent children.  Not one of them is helpless.  Exasperating sometimes, but not helpless.
  • What is your most treasured possession?
  • Apart from my family?  My absolute conviction that God lives and he loves me.   Knowing that I am a child of God has coloured everything I do.  I want to act as a He would have me do.  Don’t always achieve it, but I try.  I read a poem when I was a teenager which has had a huge impact on my life.  “I am a child of royal birth; my father is King of heaven and earth.”   That’s all I remember of that poem.
  • What is the quality you most like in a person?
  • Caring.
  • Who is your favourite hero of fiction?
  • Whathisname from Pride and Prejudice.  You know, Mr Darcy.  Swoon!
  • Who are your heros in real life?
  • Strong women who are achieving their dreams, managing home and family (and the men in their lives) and STILL dreaming big.
  • What is your motto?
  • Whenever I feel like exercising, I lie down till the feeling goes away.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

