Women of our Times – Anita Scott

A glimpse into the lives of some of the members of Business and Professional Women

July 2010

Introducing … Anita Scott, Young BPWNZ convenor

  • Club: Hawera
  • Age: 33
  • Occupation: Site manager DMV-Fonterra Excipients. We manufacture pharmaceutical lactose (only site in NZ) both for tablets and inhalation applications. We are world leader in inhalation grade lactose (example for asthma inhalers). We have production sites in the Netherlands, Germany and New Zealand and sales offices world wide. I look after a big part of our business in NZ and manage the inhalation grade lactose plant in NZ.
  • Positions held in BPW: Vice President Membership & Development BPW Hawera, YoungBPW convenor BPW Hawera and YoungBPW convenor BPW NZ.
  • How long have you been a member of BPW? 1 yr, so I’m pretty much still in the process of getting to know the whole organisation and all the good things that BPW does in NZ and internationally. I figured that the best way to do this is to get actively involved and so far that has paid off.
  • What is your idea of perfect happiness? Having a good life-work balance, a nice group of friends, happy kids & husband, beautiful summer weather and all the people we care about at our house for a BBQ (nice food; veggies from our own garden, drinks and live music).
  • What is a trait you most deplore in others? Complaining without doing anything to improve the situation. I can’s stand negativity and can’t do/ won’t do mentality.
  • What is your greatest extravagance? I don’t think I have any….
  • What or who is the greatest love of your life? My two girls – it still amazes me how much love you can feel for your own children.
  • Which talent would you most like to have? I would love to be able to sing. I love musicals and opera’s and I always dreamed of being on stage myself, but I just can’t sing so that’s never going to happen. I have already progressed a lot over the last 3 years, singing with my kids (they are very forgiving), but I miss the talent to ever be able to sing in public.
  • If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be? Nothing, I would’ve done that already (and if not, then it really isn’t all that important).
  • What do you consider your greatest achievement? Personal: Putting two beautiful girls on this world who are both happy to be here. Professional: Managing to get us (the family) back to New Zealand with my current job, which I absolutely love.
  • What is your most treasured possession??  I don’t really get attached to things.
  • What is the quality you most like in a person? Honesty and the ability to treat everybody with the same respect independent of their status or background.
  • Who are your heroes in real life? My father: He’s not here anymore, but he is definitely my biggest role model.
  • What is your motto? “The best way to predict the future is to create it”. This is what I quoted on the invitation for my graduation party ten years ago and I still live by that motto. We have our own lives in our hands and it’s up to us to create opportunities and take them. No excuses – take responsibility and just get on with it.

Oh, and don’t worry about things that are out of your control. Sometimes you just have to accept things the way they are and make the best of the situation (how hard that might be).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

